From diaspora muslim with love….

If I would share a love poem with you
One in arabic, farsi or urdu
If I would paint the words LOVE, PEACE, EQAULITY in arabic all over the city

And would recite the most beautiful quranic verses to you
You would look at me with that disturbed look in your face
suspiciously standing in distance to the most beautiful things I´d have to say

Cause I´ll be yours and you´ll be mine forever. The other of the other.
Cause my words and my love would be absorbed by every orientalistic and anti islamic stereotype you ever had been confranted with

How could I love you knowing you´d translate my love to hate
How could I be me while being you
Why would anybody want to be loved for something they ain´t

If I would share a love poem with you
One in arabic, farsi or urdu
you would not listen to the love inside but get bothered by my style

You´ll start to speculate whether those words were used in any terroristic context before

If I would paint the words LOVE, PEACE, EQUALITY in arabic all over the city
you´ll start to chase me in fear of an islamic invasion

I am your other. Always was always will be. That´s exactly how you love and want me to be.

 

*Nachtrag: Bei den Veranderungen, denen PoC ausgesetzt sind handelt es sich um soziale Konstrukte und Praxen. Das Problem ist nur, dass diese Prozesse zwar stets ausgehandelt werden, dies aber nicht zur >Normalisierung< der >Anderen< beitragen wird, wenn diese Konstrukte nicht de-konstruiert werden. Vielleicht sind es in 50 Jahren nicht mehr Muslime, aber dafür wieder andere konstruierte Menschengruppen, die zum >Anderen< gemacht werden. Mein Widerstand ist nicht nur meinetwillen. Mein Widerstand ist für die Würde eines jeden >Anderen<.

 

Iqra is the qur´anic key to all what I am and can be.

  „I am not the ´Other´, but the self, not the object, but the subject, I am the describer of my own history, and not the described. Writing therefore emerges as a political act. (…) and as I write I become the narrator, and the writer of my own reality, the author of and the authority on my own history. In this sense, I become the absolute opposition of what the colonial project has predetermined.“ -Grada Kilomba: Plantation Memories. Episodes of Everyday Racism-

 

c961bdeac9e22399fd389af39a34fe96

Leave a Reply

